Goodbye Dr Spock!

I can hardly believe the first part of my ‘experiment’ has come to an end, and I have to admit it’s with a heavy heart that I put down my Dr Spock book.

Over the last month and a half, he’s taught me to trust myself and my instincts more. As parents we’re bombarded by expert advice which is often contradictory. Spock’s message that ‘you know more than you think you do’ helps cut through some of the uncertainty.

I’m surprised by some of his critics who say he doesn’t set clear standards. It’s true that he’s anti- authoritarian, but this isn’t the same as anti-discipline. He encourages us to be firm but fair and says we need to understand our children in order to get through to them. This resonates with me and in the main has worked well with my kids.

Of course some of his ideas are good in theory but don’t always work well in practice- however much I try, I’m not going to be able to stay calm when Harry paddles in the dog’s water bowl when we’re late for school or when Ben wakes me up in the middle of the night because he’s ‘bored’- but in the main what he says is sensible.

Stay with me as next week I follow Supernanny in the bid to discover which expert can tame my kids!

One thought on “Goodbye Dr Spock!

  1. I’m LOVING your posts, I’ve read them all!
    Thank you so much for your comments about my review of ‘How to talk so kids will listen’. From what you say here it looks like their book is a much more practical version of Dr Spock. They especially have lots of ideas about alternatives for punishments.
    I’ve got 2 more chapters to summarise, should be done by the end of April!
    BTW you need to get on twitter, so that we can chat ;o)

Leave a Reply

